So, How’d That NaNoWriMo Thing Go?

In a word? Lousy.

Long answer: On a more relative note, this was my most successful attempt at a NaNo novel to date. Previously, I had reached the 5k word count mark before I gave up/got blocked/got bored. This time, I managed to reach around 10k. That’s an improvement, and at least it gave my story a good start. Enough of a good start that I’m encouraged to continue. Unfortunately, I didn’t manage any progress during December, for various reasons.

It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new . . . year. For me.

And so, onward. Beginning Monday, I will set aside time to write at least 500 words a day. That’s a much lower word count than the average 1,667 words I was expecting to pump out each day during NaNo (and did not manage), so maybe it’s a more a realistic and achievable goal.

My collaborator on Legacy has already agreed we need to get back to work. We might schedule a session soon; personal reasons are preventing us from setting a schedule at the moment.

Enjoy the New Year. I’ll try to do the same.

About Bruce Diamond

Despicably proud old man. Text-extruding asshole (thank you, John Scalzi) with a skewed vision on life, pop culture, writing and general assholiness. Not a scholar, not a gentleman, not Martin or Lewis. But still trying to make life fun and funny.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.