Empty-Handed and Empty-Headed

I come empty-handed and empty-headed again to the blank blog page. (Unblog, thenkyewverramuch.) So, I guess this will have to be a mish-mosh of various things.

Amazon Imprints

Amazon has announced a series of imprints for various genre and mainstream books. The world’s #1 bookseller will now try to become the world’s #1 book publisher, in dead tree and electronic formats. My only regret (other than the continual shrinking and centralizing of publishing power, the conflict this will inevitably raise with other publishing houses, the possible undue influence Amazon the book publisher will have on Amazon the bookseller’s bestseller lists, etc.) is that, obviously, any titles that Amazon publishes electronically will not be available for the nook.

Occupy Wall Street

While I sympathize with the spirit behind the movement, I haven’t kept up with the news reports. The things I know: protestors have been maced for no good reason, protestors have been arrested for no good reason, a right-wing self-styled agent provocateur practically instigated the Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum confrontation, the movement has spread to other cities (including my own native Quad-Cities, as of this coming Saturday), and some organizers have *finally* gotten the bright idea to picket the homes of ultra-rich CEOs like the Koch Bros. and Rupert Murdoch. It’ll be interesting to see how this all plays out, especially here locally.

Steven Jobs

Don’t have much to say. Brilliant innovator, not so nice family man, huge influence on the way we all compute. From the did you know files: Jobs was not an early champion of the Apple McIntosh.

Job Hunt

Sucks.

Snuff

New Terry Pratchett novel? OMGWTFBBQPITCHFORKS! Must have! MUST HAVE!

Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter

Goodreads just told me it’s been 25 days since I started. I’m 40 pages from the end. Man, I just can’t focus on it. In the meantime, I’ve read Lawrence Block’s memoir, am halfway through one of Donald Westlake’s Dortmunder novels, read two Nicole Hollander collections, read half of NaNoWriMo for the New and Insane, and read a metric ass-ton of comics. I promise I’ll finish with Hester Prynne and Rev. Dimmesdale Any Day Now.

How’s the outlining going for your NaNoWriMo project?

Shaddap. One thing I will say, I’ve developed a strategy for how I’m going to attack it this year. More about that tomorrow.

About Bruce Diamond

Despicably proud old man. Text-extruding asshole (thank you, John Scalzi) with a skewed vision on life, pop culture, writing and general assholiness. Not a scholar, not a gentleman, not Martin or Lewis. But still trying to make life fun and funny.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.