I’m Still Here, Ain’t I?

When did your dream die?

  • In 8th grade, when a whole classroom laughed at me for wanting to be an astronaut.
  • In 10th grade, when the counselor told me I couldn’t take physics in my junior year because I had decided not to continue in advanced placement math for 11th grade.
  • In freshman year of college, when I finally heard my voice on tape.
  • In senior year of college, when I was heckled onstage while doing an original standup routine about Star Wars.
  • In graduate school, when I realized I had no interest in completing my masters.
  • In 1985, when my divorce was finalized.
  • In 1989, when I was laid off for the first time in my life.
  • In 1992, when my business producing training videos failed.
  • Also, in 1992, when I finally stopped submitting the best story I’d ever written to magazines. Four rejections were apparently enough.
  • In 1995, when I suffered my first major panic attack. (And what would turn into a months-long series of panic attacks.)
  • In 2001, when I stopped writing movie reviews.
  • In 2003, when I moved back home, but somehow managed *not* to take the town by storm.
  • In 2008, when the economy collapsed.
  • In 2010, when my fourth attempt at National Novel Writing Month failed.

So in light of all this, Is your dream really dead?

Nope. I’m still here, ain’t I?

About Bruce Diamond

Despicably proud old man. Text-extruding asshole (thank you, John Scalzi) with a skewed vision on life, pop culture, writing and general assholiness. Not a scholar, not a gentleman, not Martin or Lewis. But still trying to make life fun and funny.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Still Here, Ain’t I?

  1. Dave says:

    Don’t let your dreams die. Don’t let detractors kill your dreams. Keep on keeping on. A lot of people failed many times before having massive success. Remember how many times Edison messed up with trying to get an electric light bulb that worked. Remember all the *failures* NASA had before they finally got someone on the moon. Remember, many authors had their manuscripts rejected many, many times (even tossed in the trash)… before they had something hit and make the best-seller list. That’s what keeps me going. Not ALL of us are laughing at our dreams. The fact that you are “still here” is an inspiration to the rest of us (who are also trying for something a bit bigger than ourselves).

Comments are closed.