Why Layoff, Anyway?

Q: So, why choose to write Layoff, anyway? Didn’t you fail NaNoWriMo last year using that very same idea?

I believe I said so in my previous post, yes.

Q: Then why go back to that well again?

It may be obvious that I’ve got some bugaboos to work out concerning my working life, shit that’s piled up over the years. If you were to look at my résumé, you’d see that I haven’t spent more than 5 years at any one place of employment. That’s due to a number of factors, but basically boils down to:

  • 50% of the time – I’m tired of the job
  • 50% of the time – An employer is tired of me.

(Statistics courtesy of PullingNumbersOutOfMyAss, Inc.)

My most recent round of employment/unemployment has added two factors: a fucking lousy economy and ageism.

Q: How much of your personal work history will be in the story?

As of this time, I’m not sure. Ageism will not be a part of the story, as I’m pegging my main character’s age in his early 30s. The economy will definitely factor into the plot.

Q: But aren’t you just writing a revenge fantasy?

As I stated in my previous post, I want to steer away from pure revenge/adolescent wish fulfillment, as that would hurt any story integrity. But it has its role to play, yes, and I think it will resonate with a large segment of the working population.

Q: So, you’re returning to Layoff strictly for commercial gain?

Would that be so bad? Anyway, as I’ve ably demonstrated throughout my writing history, I ain’t getting rich off this words-for-dollars schtick. The primary reason for writing this story is to work through my own hangups, fears, and shit. The secondary reason is to prove to myself I can do it: write every day and complete a story, something I haven’t done in a long while. Ancillary reasons include entertaining others and, maybe, making money while doing so. I’m under no illusion I’ll have a salable story at the end of November, but maybe I’ll be well on my way to getting there.

Q: If you do complete Layoff, but it doesn’t find a publisher, will you go the self-publishing route again, as you did for “The Angel of Lies”?

You bet your sweet bippy I will.

Q: But hasn’t Angel made only a handful of sales?

Shaddap, you . . .

About Bruce Diamond

Despicably proud old man. Text-extruding asshole (thank you, John Scalzi) with a skewed vision on life, pop culture, writing and general assholiness. Not a scholar, not a gentleman, not Martin or Lewis. But still trying to make life fun and funny.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.