Be Careful What You Wish For

You’ve surely heard the phrase “be careful what you wish for, because you might get it.” Said phrase can be applied to my life, starting next week.

For two months, I’ve been struggling on a 28-hour-a-week job with the local police department. And I’ve been trying to get a second part-time job to bolster my income.

Well, about a month back, a recruiter contacted me after seeing my resume on either Monster.com or CareerBuilder.com, I forget which. He talked up a tech writing gig here in town that would last a couple of months, but would pay decently. I interviewed (over the phone) with the project manager, who gave me a thumbs up.

Just yesterday, the recruiter called with a job offer. Yay! The gig requires 30-34 hours a week. Boo!

Fifty-eight to sixty-two hours a week! Oy! To use another cliché, “when it rains, it pours.” I haven’t worked two jobs since…well, longer ago than I’d care to mention.

The positive: A foot in the door with a new organization, which could lead to future gigs. Money to pay down debt.

The negative: Sleep? Who needs sleep?

The Angel of Lies ebook coverAnother piece of good news this week: my short story ebook, “The Angel of Lies” is now available in the Amazon Kindle store. Still only 99 cents. Buy a copy today, and you won’t sleep, either.

About Bruce Diamond

Despicably proud old man. Text-extruding asshole (thank you, John Scalzi) with a skewed vision on life, pop culture, writing and general assholiness. Not a scholar, not a gentleman, not Martin or Lewis. But still trying to make life fun and funny.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. phaedrus64 says:

    I thought I would leave you with this “wish”

  2. phaedrus64 says:

    My wish for you is that you never become one of those people. Unless, of course, it would be something very funny to see.

Comments are closed.