April Fools Day

The first draft of this sounded too much like I was blogging. It has been sacrificed to the ether.

In general, I’m not a big fan of pranks or April Fools jokes, even though I’ve pulled my own over the years. I try not to do anything unnecessarily cruel or embarrassing, but sometimes I fail. I’m human. I did pull an April Fools joke this year, but it was a very obvious one: I said that I had been laid off from my day job, but immediately after that, sold a trilogy to a publisher for $5 million, sold the film rights, and Susan Sarandon wanted me to be her boy toy. Even as ridiculous as all that was, I still snared someone.

(I pulled an inexcusable prank when I was in junior high. I’m incredibly thankful that that person has remained a good friend over the years, despite the cruelty I exhibited.)

I’m a wet blanket when it comes to others’ April Fools jokes, too. One Facebook friend posted she was pregnant. She reeled some folks in, but I kept saying it was a joke. Sometimes, I just can’t play along. Don’t know why.

Science fiction writer John Scalzi pulled a good April Fools joke on his blog, Whatever. His publisher, Tor Books, posted the prologue to a far-fetched sounding fantasy book called The Shadow War of the Night Dragons. Even though the prologue contained the sentence, “It was a dark and stormy night,” a *lot* of people bought into it. I never did. Scalzi has just posted today that it was all a joke, and some folks are disappointed. Let me just say this — based on the prologue, Terry Pratchett, perhaps the leading comic fantasist today, has nothing to worry about.

Still, it’s a fun read, and a fun joke. No one was harmed or embarrassed. That’s the kind of joke . . . nay, the kind of prevarication . . . that I can get behind.

Today’s prevarication: I’m still not blogging.

About Bruce Diamond

Despicably proud old man. Text-extruding asshole (thank you, John Scalzi) with a skewed vision on life, pop culture, writing and general assholiness. Not a scholar, not a gentleman, not Martin or Lewis. But still trying to make life fun and funny.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April Fools Day

  1. Anonymous says:

    Does a joke qualify as a lie? Or is it all about intentions? Why do we laugh at such April foolery anyway? What’s the pay off for “hooking” someone in? I love April Fool’s myself, and wonder why the human animal feels the drive–and and the vigor–to pull one over on someone, even harmlessly. We seem to be the only animal to do so.

  2. Well, anonymous, I’d say intentions may have a bearing on a joke qualifying as a lie, but in the end, just like beauty, it’s all in the eye of the beholder. And it depends on the *type* of joke. Not all jokes are lies, not all lies are jokes. Again, it’s a case-by-case basis.

    Don’t know about the origin of such tomfoolery. Does it have its background in territoriality? Alpha-dog behavior? Competition? What do you think?

  3. In other words, how the fuck do I know?

Comments are closed.